top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 8 - First Day High


"Upacara" a traditional flag raising ceremony which is done every Monday in all school in Indonesia

Warm greetings from students

Student is doing "salim/salam". It is a way of showing their respect as they greet their teachers every morning

Early in the morning, we went back to SMA N1 Baturraden for another day in school. Mass and I are so excited since it will be our first day to observe a class since last week the school was very busy preparing for their independence day. We reached Baturraden before 7am and I observed that there were several teachers lining-up near the entrance to greet the students who are entering the school. After greeting the teachers and some students from UMP and JSU, we were asked to stand beside them and to also greet the students. I am amazed by this tradition as we don’t practice such in our country.


The classroom set-up

Typical state owned classroom set-up in Indonesia

When I entered the class, I noticed that the image of their current president are place in front of every class room similar to country. Each room has a big window and enough lighting. CCTV cameras are installed inside every classroom as well . Students are using a desk and there are two students who are sharing on a desk but male and female are not allowed to share on one desk. The room is very spacious which is very ideal to conduct activities. There is a total of 30 - 40 (max) students per classroom. Every classroom has a projector that a teacher can use to supplement the lesson that he/she will discuss. When we entered the class, everyone recited “Assalamualaikum Waramatullahi Wabarakatuh” which is an Arabic greetings.


O.R.E.O

Students are enjoying the activity of their teacher. A great way to open a lesson.

Before starting the lesson, Ibu checked first the attendance of the students. She called the names of the students one by one to check if they are around or not. After checking the attendance, Ibu asked the students to stand-up and follow the dance shown on the video. The song is entitled “OREO” which is an acronym for Opinion, Reason, Evidence, and Opinion restated. The song presented to the class is connected to the lesson that Ibu Cici’s lesson for the day. She is going to discuss about “Thoughts and Opinion”. After singing the song, the teacher asked few questions about what the students know regarding their topic. Few students participated on answering the queries.


Name introduction

The teacher requested me and Mass to introduce our selves to the class. I feel shy standing in from of the class as if I am consumed by my stage fright. I just take a deep breath and start talking. I used Bahasa at first in introducing my self. A big thanks to Ibu Cici for teacher me and Mass how to introduce ourselves in Bahasa. Students were keenly observing the information that I am saying. Students asked few questions after we introduced our selves to them and they seem to be interested about our background.


Human Photo booth :D

After the class we were stormed by the students to take a picture with us. We felt like a celebrity at this moment because almost everyone wants to take a picture with us. I am really shy when it comes to taking pictures because I don’t like my face to be captured but I can’t just decline the request of the lovely students.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page