top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 7 - Parada Extravaganza


A picture with some students from SMP Muhammadiyah Purwokerto wearing their traditional costume

A colorful Parade

Students are lining-up for the parade with their colorful bicycles decorated with some shiny embellishments

Early in the morning we went to SMP Muhammadiyah to attend their independence day parade which they call “extravaganza”. The parade was a collaboration of several schools and local group in Purwokerto. Each group is distinct to one another riding a decorated vehicles and wearing colorful traditional costumes. We are gathered outside the cinema and some are rehearsing for their performance that they will show to people gathering at the side of the road.


Scorching Heat

We walk a total of 3.5 kilometers under the scorching heat of the sun but we didn’t mind it. We enjoyed every moment seeing people staying along the road just to see the parade. Every corner of the street is filled with spectators who are taking pictures of the parade. The rhythm of the music played from the vehicle at our back catches the attention of the spectators. Students from SMP gracefully danced in the rhythm of the music as they walk. Their actions are so graceful that it seems like that they don’t have bones at all. The intricacy of their movements are so smooth and very eye-catching. We ended the parade near SMP and followed by a delicious lunch shared by everyone who joined the group on the parade.


Blissful Rest

After a tiring yet a very productive morning, we head back to UMP MESS to finally rest our tired feet and cool down our body bathed in the sunlight. I hydrated myself, rest for few minutes and took a cold bath to sooth my body. After I freshened up, I lie flat on my bed and closed my eyes. I was so tired that I had a sound sleep and when I woke up for dinner, I feel revitalized.

Me and Mass studying in our room for our lesson next week. (Pardon our room lol)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page