top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 28 - Final Day in Purwokerto


Final day visit at GOR and SunMor

Together with me is Sultan. He is a grade 11 student from SMA N1 Baturraden who is kind to tour me in Purwokerto on my last day.

It is my last day in Purwokerto. I woke up early in the morning, drink some local tea while sitting outside our room trying to seize the moment while it last. I suddenly heard a honk of a horn from the gate and when I opened it, I saw one of the students from SMA N1 Baturraden. He asked me if I want to go to SunMor or GOR for a stroll. He knew that it was my last day in Purwokerto and he wants to tour me around the city for the last time. I did not know what I did to have an offer from a student whom I just knew for a couple of week. I gladly accepted his offer and together we rode the motorcycle around the city and went to GOR. His girlfriend also video-chatted me and told me that she can’t join the trip in Purwokerto and she feels bad about it. We roam around GOR and I witness a group playing live Kenthongan music and a swarm of people haggling for the merchandise they want to purchase. The sun was up and it is time to say goodbye to a friend in Purwokerto. We may not be seeing each other personally but he said that he and his classmates will message me frequently so that I will not forget them.



A Joyful Last Dinner in UMP MESS


It will be our last dinner in Purwokerto so I decided to cook a Filipino dish for our buddies from UMP. They sent us a message that they want to spent time with us for the last time during dinner. It was hard to cook a Filipino dish using endemic spices and condiments but I think I was able to make a way out it. Cristine and Cerise tasted the Pancit (Sauteed Filipino Noodles) that I cooked and confirms that it passed their taste buds. The evening and our buddies arrived one by one until we were able to occupy the whole terrace. We had good conversation over the food I cooked and the food they brought with them. They also gave us a farewell gift which we totally did not expect. They departed from MESS around midnight and gave their wishes of success to all of us and also their prayers for safe travel which we also reciprocated with the same wish. I truly enjoy having a conversation with them as if we know each other for a very long time.


An Early Morning Departure in Purwokerto

My bags are packed and ready to go

After our buddies left, everyone was on their bed sleeping quietly. I arranged all the chairs that we used, clean-up the table, swept the floor and washed the dishes. I don’t want to leave MESS with a messy look LOL. Knowing that there’s only 1 hour left before Mas Ameer pick us up to travel to Jakarta, I took a bath and did not sleep until he arrives. I just want to savour all the remaining time I have left in Purwokerto and Central Java.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page