top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 23 - Tuesday Craze


Teaching must continue

After the nerve wracking and heart throbbing evaluation yesterday, I still woke early to do my daily routine here in Indonesia. I ate breakfast with the members of fantastic four and a new member of our MESS family. Every was so quiet while munching on breakfast. I feel that everyone is sad for the fact that we only have few days left here in Indonesia. I booked a GRAB going to SMA N1 Baturraden. Unlike our normal trip that I usually talk to the driver, I don’t seem to feel any energy to talk to someone since I am contemplating my stay here in Indonesia. Oh my! I think I am having this separation anxiety LOL. Anyway, upon reaching the school, I was given 2 teaching units equivalent for 180 minutes. Despite of having a low energy, I manage to make the class lively and make students cooperate on my lesson. After every lesson, I took time to deliver my “thank you” as well as my “farewell” message. Student were sad about learning that I will be leaving them but I told them that it is part of life. No matter how painful it is, people come and go. Who knows our path cross again soon and by that time, my students become a better person.


Getting to know more people


On my last 2 days in SMA N1 Baturraden, I spent my time roaming around campus and trying to memorize things. I want to make sure that I will still have a surreal memory when I return in the Philippines. Upon my tour, I stumbled upon a group of students whom I recognize but not part of the section where I teach Sociology. Their classroom is right next to where me and Mass are staying. Every day they never fail to greet me whenever they see me and ask me on how am I. I really appreciate those simple gestures from them. While they are busy trying to get a fruit from Cacao tree, they stopped and tried to talk to me. We shared thoughts and talk about stuffs. Despite of having some difficulty in trying to speak in English, the manage to pull-off a conversation with me. I am glad to know them even more and build my circle in school even bigger.


Strolling Around the UMP with the new student

Taking a final photo of this iconic school name

I left SMA N1 Baturraden with a heavy heart this afternoon. I just want to extent my stay. I think 1 month is not enough and I want to know more people and talk to them but going back home is indeed inevitable. As the car departs farther and farther, my view to the school is getting smaller. I took a deep breath and told myself that it is part of the process. No matter how painful goodbye is, we have to withstand the pain because after that I will become a bolder and better person. I was sharing the experience to my friends in UMP MESS and they too are having the same thought. The sadness is consuming me that I can hardly breath. I asked Cristine to accompany me for a walk and also Cerise so that we can tour her around the school campus as well. We stroll and talk about happy things ease the sadness that we are feeling. I felt relieved after our walk and got myself tired that I fell asleep after I lie down in my bed.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page