top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 22 - The Countdown Begins



Seizing the Moment

I was writing my blog and realized that it is just less than 10 days we will go back to the Philippines. I feel sad about it as I am still enjoying my stay here in Purwokerto. I never felt lonely or sad because the people here are very hospitable, accommodating and kind. I feel like I belong to their family. People from UMP even thought that I am a Javanese because of the way I behave. Knowing that I am going home in few days from now, I want to just stop for a while and enjoy every bit of second that I am here.


Thrilling Evaluation

Flaunting a smile of success as I am done with me Final Evaluation. Beside me is Dr. Arifin from UMP who was evaluator apart from Ibu Adel which is standing right next to him.

Because of my sad feeling of going back home, I forgot that I will have my final evaluation for today. I rerun my slides in laptop and review my lesson plan. I told myself to give my all not for the result of my evaluation but more importantly to challenge my students to take actions about what they are about to learn from my discussion. Early in the morning, Ibu Cici came in our room to ask my flashdrive to print my lesson plan and my slides. I was trying to compose myself. So the afternoon came and the moment of evaluation as arrived. I ran my slides to the class and started talking. My hands are sweaty but I feel cold. After seeing the faces of my students who are closely listening to my discussion, I feel relieved. I seldom gaze my attention to Pak Arifin at the back who is meticulously observing my demonstration in class. I slow down my pace when I am talking and translated some of my instruction in Bahasa Indonesia for the ease of transaction. I integrated video, little game and social media on my lesson which I think brought smile to my cooperating teacher and evaluator. I ended my class with a challenge to all my students to take action and encourage other people to do the same. After the class, I received a thumbs-up from pak Arifin which I think it means well done.


A sigh of Gladness and Sadness

I exhaled a big sigh after my evaluation as a form of relief from the dilemma and anxiety of the result of my evaluation. I roam around the campus silently and trying to observe everyone. I am trying to gaze all parts of campus as I know that my days are numbered in SMA N1 Baturraden. After I roamed around, I again sigh but unlike earlier, this time I feel sad knowing that I will be missing all that is in SMA Baturraden.

I exhaled a big sigh after my evaluation as a form of relief from the dilemma and anxiety of the result of my evaluation. I roam around the campus silently and trying to observe everyone. I am trying to gaze all parts of campus as I know that my days are numbered in SMA N1 Baturraden. After I roamed around, I again sigh but unlike earlier, this time I feel sad knowing that I will be missing all that is in SMA Baturraden.


A Farewell Malaysian Friends

The PB squad with our most amazing student buddy (Arel) in the middle. People may see us like a comic squad but our conversations were so deep and mature. I will miss this Squad.

I arrived in UMP MESS and observed that everyone seems to be busy. My Malaysians friends who are staying upstairs were packing-up their things since they will be leaving tonight. Oh my, another stack of sadness filled my heart. These Malaysian friends are the noise that I use to hear every day in MESS. Without them, life in UMP MESS will be a bit boring. It was 10PM when the van that will take them to Jakarta arrives. We bid our goodbyes and some get emotional. The bond that I have with them was deep although we only knew each other for a very short time. I will miss the jokes of Mohan, the craziness of Joe, the loud bubbly voice of Husna, the cute voice and face of Atul and the comic Soleha. They were strangers when we arrived but they become my family. It pains to see them go, I think that is the beauty of life, people may come and go but the imprints they will leave will last for a lifetime.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page