top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 18 - Cultural Thursday


Teachers were so glad seeing us wearing "batik" in school

Batik Day

A picture with some students wearing their "batik" Uniform

I am excited to go to school today wearing the batik that we bought in Toko Benang Raja with Mass and Ibu Cici. We arrived at school and the teachers were amazed seeing me wearing a batik and Mass wearing Bacho-coco. These shirts are the traditional attire of Indonesian people. Batik is a printed fabric with colorful patterns that were artistically made in Indonesia while the bacho-coco is also a kind of attire for men in Indonesia. It is normally worn every Friday. I like the shirt that I bought and wearing it gives me a feeling that I am embracing the Javanese culture. It also our picket schedule to greet students at the gate. While greeting students, we had some photo opportunities with teachers in SMA N1 Baturraden. We were also visited by one of the teachers in SMAN in our quarter. He is wearing a traditional costume of Indonesia as well and also a hat that is made from Bali, Indonesia. He gave us a little background about the origin of his dress as well as his head gear. He also allowed us to try wearing it to complete our Javanese get-up.


A sumptuous meal prepared with love


During the break time we were visited by Ibu Cici. This time she is bringing again a plastic bag containing tumbler filled water and food container. It is her second time of giving us graces that we can sumptuously enjoy every lunch. When we opened the container, I feel so elated not only for the fact that the food she gave us are one of my favorites but also the fact that she is so thoughtful for me and Mass. I could not thank her enough for her kindness and thoughtfulness towards us. We never felt like we are left out or hungry every time we go to school. She always sees to it that we are well taken cared off despite of her very busy schedule. At lunch time we really enjoyed that food prepared for us. It was so delicious and what makes it better is knowing that it was prepared with love.


A Song and some Tongue Twisters

Writing some words from the song that we listened

Every Thursday, I join the extracurricular activity spearheaded by Ibu Cici which is the English club of SMA N1 Baturraden. It is my second time to meet the members of the club. Ibu Cici gave me the entire time to have a session with the student. I started the lecture by playing a song entitled “A Whole New World”. It is a theme song of the recent film Aladdin. I chose the song since it is in trend and all the students knows or familiar with it. I asked the students to write down the words from the lyrics of the song that they are not familiar with it. After the songs, we went to our list and defined the words one by one. After explaining the definition of the unfamiliar words, I noticed that most of the students have a hard time enunciating the words. After observing their challenge, I wrote few tongue twister and asked the students to recite it. I read the phrases first and they followed after I read it. I told students to write down the tongue twisters and practice it at home so that they can exercise their tongue. Once they are used to saying the words correctly, it would be easier for them to identify the correct vowel and consonant sounds.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page