top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 17 - A test and A cold night ride


A wacky post after assessment

Assessment task

Me giving an instruction in English and in Bahasa before I start the assessment

The day has finally come that I will be able to test if the assessment task I created is plausible or understandable for my students. Though this assessment, I will be able to identify if I was able to meet my objectives as well to check if the students learned on my discussion. The rang and I hurried to the first to which I will conduct my assessment. Everyone seemed to excited when I entered the classroom. They greeted me with a warm welcome and a smile on their faces. Prior announcing that we will have an assessment, I made a very short review or summary about our previous discussion. I then prepared my laptop and turned on the projector. At first, they don’t have an idea what I was doing until I instructed them to get a pen and a paper for the assessment. The room that was once full of gleaming small noises of excitement is now filled with silence. I was running though the slides I created for the assessment when I saw everyone was just staring at it and having a question mark on their faces. I then realize that the slides I created is purely written in English and have no Bahasa Indonesia translation at all. I grabbed my phone and opened my app for translation. Every after I read the question in English, I translate in in Bahasa Indonesia and I can hear every student saying ah-ha!


Quick huddle

I failed to take a picture of me and Pak Wanda, so it is just me and Mass.

After class, I went back to teachers quarter. Inside the room are the Interns from Jeneral Soederman University who were also busy finishing some school stuffs as they are about to end their internship at school. I was seating on my chair when Ibu Cici arrived together with a visitor. Mass (Thai Exchange student) who was sitting beside recognized the person and told me that he will be the one who will observe the class of Mass, his name is Pak Wanda. Pak Wanda is a lecture of Universitas Muhammadiyah Purwokerto under Mathematics department. Ibu Cici introduced Pak Wanda to me and we started talking about the life of a teacher in the Philippines as well as the education system of our country. He also asked me some questions like what is my impression on the education system of Indonesia and what are my observations so far regarding the school system and set-up. Our huddle was a bit short since Mass and him would need to go to the class and do the observation. It was quick huddle but the exchange of information that we had during our talk are very valuable.


A cold night ride with yellow ladies

Dinner with UNSOED ladies

Before Mass and I went back to UMP MESS, the students of Jenderal Soederman invited us for a dinner. Sadly, Mass is in not in the mood of going out to dine at the time. It was a good timing for me though as I also set an appointment to go with the Malaysian pharmacist interns to go to a Batik shop which is close to the Moro Mall which is our rendezvous. I gave my confirmation that I will join the dinner. After buying some stuff at Toko Anto Djamil, I booked a grab bike and went to Moro Mall. I waited for few minutes since I arrived early. Few moments after I met all of the UNSOED ladies and we went to the top most floor of Moro Mall to dine. After eating our dinner and have some talks with a little photo opportunity we decided to go home. Four of them brought motorcycle with them and they told me that they will accompany me back to UMP MESS. I did not decline the offer but there is one condition, I have to drive one of their motorcycle. At first I feel hesitant since Indonesia drives in the left and in Philippines we drive on the right side of the road but my adventurous spirit overcome me and I grab the bike and drive it. It was already past 8pm Indonesian time when we are at the road driving. The temperature in the streets is so cold that I feel that I was shivering while I was driving. I arrived safely in UMP MESS and was thankful for the ladies for letting me experience driving in a different country. A one of kind experience indeed.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page