top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 13 - Privately Awesome and Upbeat Evening


A huge city name glimmering in different colors at Alun-alun near the town square in front of Rita Super Mall

SMP Al Irsyad Invitation

A view on one of the Buildings from SMP Al Irsyad Boarding School. It is the number 1 private school Banyumas Regency.

Saturday and I don’t have any agenda in the morning. Mass and Pingpong who are from Thailand will meet their coordinator in UMP to teach them about the curriculum in Indonesia as well the education system and how to make a lesson plan. While me and Cristine supposed to stay in Mess until in the evening. When Ibu Cici informed that there is a school that wants me to be their guest and talk about how education system in the Philippines works and a little of background about what it is like to study in the Philippines. I gladly accepted the invite since I want to occupy myself and be productive. I asked Cristine to join me also so that she will not be left behind alone. Early in the morning we were fetched by the car from the school who invited me. We then traveled to Baturraden but on a different route from SMA. Approaching the school, we saw a lush forest and beautiful scenery of Banyumas regency. We were greeted by a humongous gate and within the wall the gate is the name of the school, “Al Irsyad Boarding School”. After knowing the name of the school, I asked my student buddy if he has an idea about the school and he told me that it is the number 1 private school in Banyumas regency. It has reputable academic track for ages and everyone not only in Banyumas but also in most parts of Indonesia knows the school. It was such a privilege to speak in such a prestigious school and give some motivation to students to value their education and above all to conserve their value of respect to people. I had so much fun my talk and I am hoping that students learned something from me and enjoyed my short presentation.


Sumptuous Javanese Lunch

After my talk in Al Irsyad, Pak Muji an English teacher on that school invited us for a sumptuous Javanese lunch near the school. We ate in a hut near a rice field. The place is cozy and the weather is cold. The sound of flowing water in the pond provides melody that compliments to the vibe of the restaurant. They ordered several food and of course the ever famous mendoan. Ibu Cici also ordered a drink for me which is full of herbs that is soothing to my throat. We are so full when we went back to Mess. I was so full that I can barely move. I just lie in my bed planning to rest for awhile a write some articles but I didn’t notice that I fell asleep.


Kenthongan Festival, “A night full of color and wonderful melodies”


Students from Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines and Indonesia are getting ready a festive night

I woke up from an afternoon slumber and prepared for our agenda this evening. I feel refreshed after taking a nap and ready for a new adventure. Tonight we will be going to Alun-alun which is located in the town’s square in front of Rita Mall for Kenthongan Festival. Kenthongan is an instrument made of wood that when you hit it with a wooden stick, it will create a beautiful sound.The festival is done every year within the month of their Independence day. It is arbitrary to the Banyumas regency where the instrument originated. We were fetched by our buddies at UMP and went to Rita mall via UMP van together with other exchange students from Malaysia who are doing their internship in different pharmacies in Purwokerto. We arrived at Rita mall around 5:30PM, we then decided to eat dinner together at Rita Mall prior the event. It is almost 7PM that we went out and to our surprise, the front of the mall is already crowded with people who are waiting for the show to start. We proceeded to the assigned seats for VIP in front of Rita mall for better view of the street dance. Every performance dance to the beat of kenthongan wearing their colorful costumes. Each district in Banyumas regency has a representative and their performance tells a colorful history of the region. Indeed it is a night full of color and wonderful melodies.






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page