top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 11 - Melodies in my heart


Striking a pose before greeting students who are excited to come in school

Singing Teacher


I don’t have any class schedule for today. I was requested by Ibu Cici to observe her class and probably also teach part of the lesson the night before. She started her class by checking the attendance and introduced me and Mass to the class. The class were so interested about us ever since we arrived at school that they requested Ibu Cici to let us sit-in to their class. It was a “request granted” for them seeing us and knowing us finally. After the short introduction, Ibu played a familiar melody to start her lesson. She then sing the song to the class. I am amazed by her lovely voice which is comparable to the voice of the singer who sang the song. The song is familiar to me because my mom used to sing that song. As Ibu sing together with the accompaniment from her speaker, students were listening and I think that they enjoyed her singing. After she sang the song, she requested me to have a duet with her so that students can listen again to the lyrics of the song as they need to answer the activity on their book. My voice was a bit shivering as I am shy singing in front of many people. After singing the song, the teacher (Ibu Cici) asked students some question that paved the way to introduce the topic to her student. The lesson for today is “simple-future tense”. What a great way to use the talent to motivate the student for the lesson. As a teacher, you need to be resourceful and dynamic in order to have a meaningful and fun learning experience to the students.


Que Sera Sera

There are several times that we have a hard time sleeping at night. Reality seems to be hitting our thoughts really hard regarding on what the morrow may come forth. The thoughts keeps on running around in a limbo and seems to be endless. We then feel anxious and worry because we can’t seem to see a brighter future ahead of us from the perspective of our current stature. The anxiety that we are feeling is sometimes being magnified by us comparing ourselves to other people as well. Scrolling on social media allow us to see what we lack sometimes which makes us feel more miserable. The song that was sang in the class reminds me that I don’t have to worry about the future and I have to learn to live today. The future is not ours to see but that doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t plan at all. We need to have a goal but we need to take steps one day at a time. We should not compare ourselves to others or to anyone because each one of us is fighting our own battle. We also live in a different time-line like others so comparing it is just a waste of time. Just enjoy the journey and make every pain that we feel to be an experience that will teach us lesson to be more tough in life’s challenges.


Yellow Coat University

The bubbly students of Universitas Jenderal Soederman

Last week the room where we used to stay were filled with blue coat and yellow coat students but this week my blue coated friends from Universitas Muhammadiyah Purwokerto are gone. They have finished their classroom observation in SMA Baturraden. The room is a bit silent as everyone is busy doing their thing. Mass and I were talking when suddenly one students from Universitas Jenderal Soederman who are wearing yellow coat bravely approach us and talked to us. At first I feel shy to them as I am aloof and I don’t know what to day. More and more students in that room joined the conversation. Although they are not used to conversational English, I really appreciate their friendliness and time as well as their effort in reaching us out for us to feel that we are not left out.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page