top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohnruf Niño Nuñala

Day 10 - A Teaching experience worth remembering


A "selfie" with my students busy on the activity I asked them to do.

Teaching Saga Continues

Another day in school and Mass and I came early. I am elated with the feedback I got from Ibu Cici and Ibu Adel about how I handled the class yesterday. Their affirmation about my teaching style and teaching method makes me feel more excited to teach a new and different class. Sociology in senior high school is taught for only 90 minutes in a week. Normally, the class will only have 1 Sociology class in a week. I am so impressed to the students as they are participating on my lesson and they can follow my pace. They also tried their best to speak in English as well.


Global citizen

Different races in one picture

In the advent of globalization, everyone can communicate to any parts of the world with the help of technology. Technology makes our life better as it gives ease to workload that makes us feel stressful before. We try to adapt new trends and follow superior culture in order to be one of the many. The oneness of thought and ideals as well as some norms and culture is what the aims of being a global citizen. In my practice teaching, I can really compare that our society have slowly adapted to culture whom we think is superior. Sadly, the traits that our young people have accommodated is a threat to our culture of having a positive values. I am amazed that despite of the emergence of globalization, students in SMA Baturraden have kept their culture of giving high respect to teachers. Whenever they see their teacher, they greet them with a smile and a gesture that they call “salim”, a Javanese word that describe a gesture of respect to people older that them. I have inserted it in my discussion about globalization that while it is important to adapt the process of globalization in order to attain nation’s progress, it is important that we filter what we can adapt and make sure to maintain our positive values.


Wrapping-up the day

Me at UMP fountain, pondering what experience and realization I had today

I went home after 3pm and while I was sitting at the car, I had some realization about my lesson for today and my experience as well. I realized that indeed that change is inevitable and in order to be at pace with the changes around us, we need to keep on learning new stuff and move forward but that doesn’t mean that we have to eradicate what makes us unique. The process of too fanatic with dominant culture sometimes have a negative impact. The knowledge we gain from wealthy and industrialized nation sometimes packaged with virus that impose a threat to our good values that makes us unique. Indonesia is not an exemption to this phenomena. What makes them unique that I really appreciate upon observing them is the the preservation of their culture amidst globalization.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page